Empire Wind 2

Lease area OCS-A 0512, the single BOEM lease that carries both Empire Wind 1 and Empire Wind 2 (Empire Wind 2 LLC designated operator of the EW2 area on 2024-11-01).

Status
On Holdlifecycle stage
FragileHafrok completion outlook
Ownership
Equinor — 100% ◆
Location
United States
Northwest Atlantic
Technology
Capacity 1,260 MW ◇ Turbines — ◇ Foundation Monopile ◇
Site & conditions
Site rights Seabed rights held Seabed lease · Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) · 2017-03 ◆ Water depth 34–39 m ≈ Wind speed 9.7 m/s @ 150 m ≈
Revenue & grid
Offtake OREC terminated ◆
Grid —
Schedule
FID Not taken
COD · Hafrok —
On hold since date not stated ∅

Delivery outlook modelled by Hafrok · calibrated on delivered projects

—
on hold — no credible date; the chart shows when a restarted project might complete
Chance of delivery
≈6% estimated chance this project reaches commercial operation
Projects put on hold complete ≈15% of the time on Hafrok's record. This one sits well below that: a market with a thinner delivery record, its size, technical complexity and no offtake contract yet. Only a restart would change that — there is no dated schedule to judge against. That figure is then halved while Hafrok reads the United States route as closed: a route that has to be won again is less likely to be won.
COD outlook
If it completes, when — Hafrok’s probability by year (teal) · the developer’s COD guidance, by date stated (ink)
20%40%60%80%100% 2033: 20.0% (conditional on completion) 2034: 20.0% (conditional on completion) 2035: 20.0% (conditional on completion) 2036: 20.0% (conditional on completion) 2037: 20.0% (conditional on completion)2026now20272028202920302031203220332034203520362037 developer cod guidance2022-01-14: the developer guided 2027 — source [11] — click for it2022-012027 [11]2023-11-22: the developer guided 2028 — source [12] — click for it2023-112028 [12]
COD probability by year, conditional on completion
YearProbability
203320.0%
203420.0%
203520.0%
203620.0%
203720.0%
Developer COD guidance, by the date it was stated
StatedAnnounced COD
2022-01-142027
2023-11-222028
How Hafrok got this date
1
On hold — no dated schedule
The project is recorded as On Hold, so no sequence of milestones can be trusted. Hafrok publishes no expected year; the chart instead spreads the remaining chance of completion over the years a restarted project might finish in.
2
Route closed until 2029
Hafrok believes a held project in the United States is unlikely to resume before a route to build exists again, and does not expect one before January 2029. On that reading the years the chart spreads the remaining chance over begin after 2029, not after today. This is Hafrok's judgment, not a fact on the record — what it rests on: United States market page.
3
Chance of delivery — separate from timing
Start from the share of On Hold projects that went on to complete — ≈15%, measured on Hafrok's record of delivered and abandoned projects, with an allowance held back where that record cannot yet speak (projects still unresolved, changed market conditions). Historically only a minority of projects put on hold returned to delivery — the estimate reflects that. Then adjust for this project's own evidence — offtake, market, size, technical complexity — and halve the result while Hafrok reads the United States route as closed (a route that has to be won again is less likely to be won) — to ≈6%, which rates it Fragile on Hafrok's four-step delivery scale (Delivering · Expected · Prospective · Fragile).

Project timeline & ownership verified milestones on the spine · ownership from Hafrok’s transactions record

2020’21’22’23’24’25’26View the sources for Consent appliedConsent applied 10 Jan 2020 ◆View the sources for Consent grantedConsent granted 21 Feb 2024 ◆No origination on record — who held the site before the first recorded deal is not known; shown as a gap, never guessed. UNRECORDEDEquinor → BP — 50.0% · closed 2021-01 2020-09 FARMDOWNBP → Equinor — 50.0% · closed 2024-04 2024-01 ACQUISITIONTODAYEquinor — 100% today · operator Equinor Equinor 100%BP BP BP exited 2024-01Equinor → BP — 50.0% · closed 2021-01 50%BP → Equinor — 50.0% · closed 2024-04 50%
Dashed tick marks today (13 Oct 2026). Ownership lives in the band below: one station per recorded deal, dated at its label, in deal order rather than to calendar scale. Secondary trades appear only at the interchanges; grey lines are parties whose entry or exit Hafrok’s record does not hold.
Announced COD: slipped so far +1.0 yr (first announced 2027) · the full guidance history is in the delivery chart above

Revenue & offtake route to market — open

No offtake secured — route to market open

OREC · NYSERDA Offshore Wind Solicitation 2 (ORECRFP20-1) awarded 2021-01, terminated 2023-12. No live offtake on record. ◇

The routes describe what exists in this market — not a prediction of which the project will take. Timing math for the auction gate lives in the delivery outlook above.
Next visible round · from the auction calendar
NYSERDA Offshore Wind Solicitation 6 (NY6) ◇
expected 2027 · planned · the round’s published documents do not name this project
design/RFI stage only; no timetable, conditioned on the federal market improving

Installation how the build is going · from sourced statements and Hafrok’s registers

Installation not started
Installation · on record
StageOn Hold
Offshore constructionnot started
Expected start of operationnot stated

Sources & verification

Rests on 15 sources (8 primary) · ◆ 10 documents held
◆Verified≈Modelled◇Sourced∴Inferred⌁Convention○Unverified∅No source·Derived
Numbers are stable citation ids — grouped by source class, so they are not consecutive.
Regulator4
[14]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)2026-08-23◆ US BOEM offshore-wind register (FR docum…
“Lease row OCS-A 0512: companies ['Empire Offshore Wind , LLC']; lease_dates ['04/01/2017']; lease_terms ['25 Years']; states ['New York']; block_count 148.”
supportsRegister entry
[16]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)2025-12-22◆ Empire Wind - BOEM state activities page…
“The auction lasted 33 rounds. Statoil Wind US LLC, which bid just under $42.5 million was the winner of lease area OCS-A 0512. [...] The commercial wind energy lease was signed and executed by BOEM on…”
supportsSite rights
[17]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)2024-12-20◆ Empire Wind 2 - COP Approval Letter to E…
“re-issue the February 21, 2024, approval with conditions of the Construction and Operations Plan (COP) for the Lease as two separate approvals, one for the EW1 Project and one for the EW2 Project. BOE…”
supportsConsentConsent appliedConsent granted
[18]
Bureau of Ocean Energy Management / NOAA NMFS2023-11-21◆ Empire Wind Record of Decision (OCS-A 05…
“Empire Wind submitted its COP on January 10, 2020.”
supportsConsentConsent appliedConsent granted
Operator2
[4]
Equinor2024-01-03◆ document
supportsMechanismDetail
[5]
Equinor2024-01◆ Equinor to take full ownership in Empire…
supportsoperator
Auction results1
[19]
New York PSC2026-06-22◆ us-nyserda-sol2-2021-nypsc-repricing
NY PSC denies OREC inflation-adjustment petitions (Oct 2023): the contracts had no reopener
supportsOfftake history
Auction pipeline1
[20]
Offshore Wind (offshorewind.biz)2026-02◆ ny-ny5-ended-2026
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsNYSERDA Offshore Wind Solicitation 6 (NY6)
Trade press5
[6]
Global Energy Monitor2026
supportsTotal capacityCoordinates
[8]
Global Energy Monitor2026-07-02
supportsCoordinates
[9]
GEBCO Compilation Group2020
supportsWater depth
[10]
DTU Wind Energy / World Bank (Global Wind Atlas)2026
supportsMean wind speed
[12]
Offshore Wind (offshorewind.biz)2023-11-22◆ Equinor and BP's Empire Wind Offshore Pr…
Press report — cited, not quoted; read it at the source link.
supportsCOD history
Unverified import1
[1]
unknown◆ document
supportsUnit capacityTotal capacityFoundationWater depthCoordinates
Encyclopaedic1
[7]
Wikipedia2024
supportsUnit capacityFoundation